Style Challenge // Transitional Creative Boy’s Bedroom

STYLE CHALLENGE - TRANSITIONAL CREATIVE BOY'S BEDROOM KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Can you have the best of both worlds? Some people think you’ve to choose one; budget friendly or style. So here I am using mostly IKEA products for an entire room mix with only a few more costly pieces (and I don’t mean a thousand bucks). The style challenge is to illustrate the fact that you can create your own personalized space without burning a hole in your pocket.

Arguably, you wouldn’t want spending too much for a kid’s bedroom. I know I wouldn’t. Unless it’s buying things that I can see it growing with us like an armchair that I can see it in another room when it’s no longer needed or suitable for the child’s room. Sometimes, buying cheap just means you’re throwing away more stuff more quickly. And sometimes, you want to invest in a few pieces that is made of quality and can age well with the family. I’m not saying go ahead and buy everything from IKEA or you should buy all the expensive stuff so that your home look expensive. Nah. It’s much more interesting to see high and low items in the same space and not able to tell that you thrift-ed on certain things. Now that’s a skill.

Up until now, I’ve did (styled) more feminine spaces. See this Modern Bohemian bedroom I did. I like doing neutral base with pops of color because the homeowner can easily layer on his/her own stuff and the result is still cohesive. There are instances when I don’t do this; if the homeowner has very specific taste or colors that he/she wants to have, I will then design the space around his/her style (the latter that is strong and already formed). These style projects that I’m doing for the blog are more neutral and flexible so that anyone can see and replicate them into their home. This. Very important because it’s why I started a design blog; the definition of dwell in style lies in one’s desire to dwell in a well designed space and get delighted every single day. If you didn’t have that burning desire before you read this, I hope that now you’ll start to feel a tickle in you. 

First let’s start with gathering inspiration, which involves you saving/pinning beautiful pictures of your ideal space. The goal is to create a boy’s bedroom who is turning into a teen. It needs to be functional; space for homework, storage for his stuff, expanding interests, still appropriate for parent and son bonding. Aesthetically it has to be; cheerful enough to appeal to a boy but stylish enough for a teen who’s rapidly growing (with change of taste, what he liked as a boy he might not love it now or next year). Not embarrass to show his room to his friends or when friends/cousins pop over. Feel totally comfortable being in his room doing things he likes instead of constantly feeling the need to bolt for the door. This is a lot to fulfill, that’s why I call it a challenge. :)

STYLE CHALLENGE - TRANSITIONAL CREATIVE BOY'S BEDROOM KATE DWELL IN STYLE

A mix of closed and open storage to keep things interesting. You get to display stuff and hide some. Since I’m going with the direction of this is a creative boy’s room, I want to make sure he has his desk and board to explore his creative side doing what he likes. I understand the feelings of a child when sometimes it’s not why you’re not doing something you should do but it’s more like it’s not comfortable doing it. Does any parent get this?

A comfy investment piece armchair for him to sit and read. Soft toys are still applicable (as an adult I still find some soft toys really cute); I think the grey hare can grow with him. It’s not like it’s super kiddy and it’s grey (neutral color, not hot pink). Toys made of wood are neutral (both boys and girls can play them which means you can pass them to the other child) and they are better than the cheap plastic ones. 

I might not be a parent (yet) and I’m certainly not a boy but I can related to these feelings when I was a teen. And you’ll be shock to learn that I never had my own room (I shared room with mum and sis) until I got married when I was 24 and I share room with my husband. A stylist/designer must have the ability to understand what other people needs even when it’s totally not him/her. :) And that’s also one of the many reasons why I love designing.

Interested to learn more, read How To Create A Mood Board and see the transitional creative boy’s bedroom mood board that I’ve did here –

STYLE CHALLENGE - TRANSITIONAL CREATIVE BOY'S BEDROOM KATE DWELL IN STYLE_MOOD BOARD

1. Sputnik Chandelier* // 2. Oppland Bed Frame // 3. Sandhaug Beside Table // 4. Aröd Work Lamp // 5. Luns Writing/Magnetic Board // 6. Förhöja Box Set Of 4 // 7. Bernhard Chair // 8. Hårtes LED Work Lamp // 9. Alex Desk // 10. Lantliv Plant Stand // 11. Vandring Hare Soft Toy // 12. Gäspa Quilt Cover // 13. Loma Pouf* // 14. Viktigt Basket With Handles // 15. Ristinge Rug // 16. Ruri Ash Armchair* // 17. Lattjo Stacking Game // 18. PS Cabinet 

I spurge on the chandelier but it’s something you can bring with you if you move plus it will always work (when he grows up) even if it isn’t in a boy’s room. I didn’t chose an IKEA armchair, I wanted one that’s more Modern (less Scandi) because I know this armchair will work perfectly in any other room if you’ve decided he doesn’t need this chair (in his room) anymore. Note that I’d spend more on things that either you really really love or have a ton of versatility.

This room has a black and white with grey neutral base, toys or artworks on display will stand out in a good way against a neutral backdrop and prevent the space from looking cluttered or overwhelming (very important in a kid’s room that can sometimes just feel messy). The three keywords for this room is bright (gives off a cheerful uplifting vibe for everyday challenges), fresh (style that won’t go dated and can grow with the child), clean (feel comfortable to spend time in the room doing homework or hobbies). Once you’ve decided the direction and final outcome of the design, stick with your plan and whenever you feel like buying something more, ask yourself if it’s within that three keywords and you won’t end up buying stuff that you’re gonna regret later. It’s 99% foolproof. 3D reveal, click here.

For more, see How To Start Planning For Your New Home. Interested in my new home inspiration? See kitchen and dining area. More IKEA Style Challenge here. Ready to start your own project with us? Click here.

All words by me, images from Pinterest, MHouse Inc. and credited links. This is a non-sponsored post. All items are from IKEA except marked (*) and are subject to availability by IKEA and respective seller(s). Actual price(s) may vary.

4 thoughts on “Style Challenge // Transitional Creative Boy’s Bedroom

COMMENT

