Dining Area Inspiration For My Home

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE

I’m sure everyone has some idea of what they want and what they don’t want in their home. But when you really start trying to plan everything out, that’s when things start getting real complicated. Right from the start, I knew I didn’t want the rectangular table + four chairs dining situation. And so I began a journey of self doubt, obsession, communication and compromise…

I don’t intend to change my dining setup (for my new home, coming in a couple months) for the next five years. That means I gotta plan it right from the get-go. I need to make sure that everything I’ve decided now is something that I will still love years down the road. And that means, I’m going with the Modern, Minimalist, Timeless route. I want my home to feel fresh right now and five years later; you can’t tell when it was actually renovated. That is the success story (in my head), it’s the peak of a mountain and right now I’m gearing and prepping myself so that I DO NOT fail. Scary but exciting isn’t it? Ha.

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_EXPLORATION

Source: Emily Henderson

The Exploration // Rectangle or Oval Table

In the ideal world, my dining area look like this (please see above pretty dining spaces). Also in the ideal world, I’ll be living in a loft with high ceiling; lots of space and maybe a dining room. I will have gorgeous marble top table with brass legs, oh and some vintage chairs reupholstered in my husband’s favorite blue. I’ll be hanging a piece of perfect print with aqua/teal as accent. And some brass chandelier.

I contemplated having a rectangle or oval table. But ultimately figured that it works much much better with bigger space (if I have a dining room) and a family who entertains. It’s not something I am 100% sure of because this is my first home. I don’t want to immediately jump into the scenario of family gathering in my home because there’s a high chance we don’t need a big dining table or so many chairs. But honestly, I want to get my hands on a marble dining table with brass legs for my NEXT home. 

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ROUND TABLE CANTILEVER CHAIRS

Source: Homepolish // Brittany Makes

The Exploration // Round Table + Cantilever Chairs

With what’s being said, that doesn’t mean that I’m gonna resent my round dining table while wishing I had that perfect dining area setup because I’m still a pretty realistic person. If I didn’t really love the idea of round tulip table I should never go for it. Plus, I’m still getting my marble top. 

There was a long period of time (I dunno how long) that I’m totally going for this look (above). I love how it feels vintage and modern. A round table feels much more intimate and casual. My living/dining space isn’t a perfect four corners layout (and had tortured me right from the start x.x), round dining table and round coffee table helps break up the straight lines and angles which will soften the space. 

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_OBSESSION_CANTILEVER CHAIRS

Source: Homepolish // Homepolish

The Obsession // Cantilever Chairs

My obsession with cantilever chairs probably started with me really wanted my home to look like Casey Debois’s apartment. For a long time, I wanted to get a pair of this chair. I’m obsessed with the Kem Weber chairs, the perfect curve (so sexy) and it looks like it cost a million bucks. I also contemplated a glass dining table complete with that bubble chandelier.

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_OBSESSION_CHANDELIER

Source: Riley Architects 

The Obsession // Bubble Chandelier

I wanted this light fixture a lot! Please tell me you didn’t think this is the prettiest light ever. I love the minimalism. It’s me in light fixture form, sorry if this comes off as weird. Ha!

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_THE OBSESSION_WANTS VS NEEDS
Source: CB2 // Apartment Therapy

The Obsession // Wants vs. Needs

Like every design process, life or reno, there comes a stage where you need to get realistic. It’s super fun to daydream and be an idealist; something I am guilty of and I’m sure my mum can attest to this. (Maybe cos’ I’m a perfectionist?). As much as I want everything to be perfect and the best that it can be, I really need to consider how practical and functional my ideas are.

So at one point, I saw this dial dining table and I went, “OMG, I want myself a round table with brass legs now”. I blamed it on “because I can’t have cantilever chairs with brass legs (and I blamed Brittany Makes for showing me her perfect dining setup). I was acting like a child. My husband can attest to this. In the end, Jim told me “no” (thank God for him) in the way that a husband knows how (and God knows what this actually means?!). We also concluded we need a table 100 cm (39.5″) wide, previously I thought a 90 cm (36″) would be enough for two dining chairs. This is why it’s so important to communicate with your partner when planning for a home reno. Jim always gives his valuable insights in the most calm and collected way that is precisely what a highly emotional woman needs (especially one that is deeply obsessed with brass, vintage cantilever chairs and three thousand bucks bubble chandelier). At this point of writing, I’m starting to think I’m obsessed with perfection itself.

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_COLOR PALETTE

Source: Riley Architects 

The Inspiration // “Feel” Of The Space

I cannot forget this space that the Curbly showed me, I love how it’s bright, airy and serene. I want to have my breakfast here everyday, and make me some afternoon tea while writing the blog. Ah! I love how the table and sheepskin are from IKEA; cost saving. Now that I know the final “feel” of the space, I’m off to explore my realistic options (read on) – 

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_EXPLORATION_BLACK WISHBONE CHAIRS

Source: Orlando Soria 

The Exploration // Black Wishbone Chairs

It’s easy for anyone to be drawn to the wishbone chairs because they’re really classic and beautiful. Although I did explored other chairs (even went as far as thinking of custom made). One thing, I love how the black wishbone chairs look so sleek and can never go out of style. It also acts as a punctuation to my otherwise neutral space. Black attracts your eyes and helps ground a space; very much needed in my open concept living/dining because yeah in case you didn’t yet know my new home is 2 bedrooms 700 sqf. Challenge accepted. :)

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ROUND TABLE WISHBONE CHAIRS

Source: Gen and Ben Sohr’s Home // The Everygirl

Classic Combination // Round Table + Wishbone Chair

After deciding that I wanna go for the wishbone chairs (and tested the replica in a local furniture store), my husband gave his approval and I began finding images with this exact combination. Not to mention plucking these beauties into my 3D (and they look great). 

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ROUND TABLE BUILT IN BENCH

Source: Kara Rosenlund’s Home

Space Saving Idea // Built-in Bench

For a while, we settled for three wishbone chairs around a white tulip table (with marble top). Until couple weeks ago, I was brave enough to add a L-shaped built in bench with storage into my 3D design. And then I showed it to Jim, he loves how he can envision me and our future child enjoying the space. Because we plan to try for a baby in our new home, I always know that one day we need a dining space that can accommodate three human beings. 

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ROUND TABLE BUILT IN BENCH_2

Source: Natalie Myers // The Charleston’s Home

The Combination // Round Table + Wishbone Chair + Built-in Bench

Right now, I think this solution is brilliant, I’m loving this space saving idea plus I just increased my seating capacity within a small and tight space. ;)

DINING INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE_BRASS LIGHT FIXTURE

Source: Homepolish // Style Me Pretty

Light Fixture // Modern Brass Chandelier

Every dining setup cannot be completed without a gorgeous light fixture. Though I’m not getting my bubble chandelier but my brass obsession is still in place. I’ll also be sprinkling a bit of brass in my kitchen to tie the look together. We shall see. It’s either the chandelier with brass arms or a simple globe pendant. Right now, my 3D design says it’s leaning towards the former. ;) And an art print to enhance the space, some beautiful throws on the bench and viola…a place I’m gonna call home and proud to show it to the world. 

Hopefully, we’ll be starting reno in a month or two (still waiting for the official completion of our new build), which is actually coming very soon although I admit there are days when I felt like time had stood still. Me and Jim are really excited for this superheroes movie and we already booked our tics weeks ago (we’re going this Sat, yay!!). Counting down small things are some things we can do to help make us feel we’re making progression to our first home (while waiting, and waiting!). I found a great series to watch on Netflix past weeks, check out Orphan Black if you haven’t and if you’re looking for good and new series to watch. I’m really looking forward to watch the new Season 4 somehow (even if Netflix isn’t gonna show it).

Subscribe to my blog by simply entering your email address to get notification for future inspiration posts and all updates from ACTUAL reno journey of my new home (I designed and oversees entirely). The next few months is gonna be real exciting for me, I am very very looking forward to and sharing it with you. :) See you next post.

Interested for more of my new home inspiration (leading to the reno)? See My Kitchen Inspiration. Looking for the perfect kitchen stools and chairs for your space? See here.

All words by me, featured image from Homepolish and credited links. 

One thought on “Dining Area Inspiration For My Home

COMMENT

