7 Ways To Have A Stylish Home Beverage Center

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST HOME BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE

With 9,457 decisions to make for every home renovation, I certainly go back and forth on this one; my beverage center situation. I seem to change my mind like every two weeks, it’s frustrating. Trust me, every home needs one and I still need one regardless of which option I choose. And so I figures, it helps if I lay them out and maybe I can finally make up my mind…

My new home is ready for renovation (ideally and hopefully) in a few months. My current plan has my beverage center located in my kitchen (next to the sink). Also if you read this, please be informed that my kitchen has a change of plan (let’s hope this is the final design). It’s one thing to design other people’s homes but for a designer to design her own home? It’s challenging; normal people just go with what they like/love, but a designer has to be open minded and a lot of ideas actually sounds like good ideas to me, which is why it’s tough. And three years is a lot of time to get tons of ideas (my new home is a new build). I really don’t consider this as being fickle-minded, it’s really more to do with my openness to explore all possible options. :) With that said, the inspiration post is still in plan, for one my cabinets are still gonna be navy blue. Hooray! 

// CABINET //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_CABINET

Source: NW Homeworks

My first option is to hide them in my kitchen cabinet like such (above). It’s just logical. It’s near the sink (easy for washing) and I’m a Minimalist (conceal is the way to go). However, my kitchen is really too small to add something like this. A width smaller than 30 cm (12″) is also not logical. I need to make tea, coffee, pour myself water at the same spot (which is why I call it “beverage center” instead of coffee station). It’s not idea to trap so much heat in a 12″ space.

Ideally, you close this off when you don’t need it (see the above swing-slide double doors?). It means I’m sacrificing my precious counter space for cooking (trust me, I tried putting it in my floor plan, can’t work). But if my kitchen is actually longer, yeah I would love this so much. So for all you folks out there who can or is having this, know that I envy you.

// CREDENZA //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_CREDENZA

Source: Brittany Makes

This is another “for the longest time I wanted to have this” inspiration. And it’s an IKEA hack! That wouldn’t cost me a lot except I need to get those pretty legs from Amazon myself and assemble everything myself (obviously, my husband would want to help, but…). I am a noob in DIY, although I have great interest. Love the white, the wood and the brass here. But swing doors aren’t practical for tight spaces (my small home). Jim (my husband) and I think it’s better if we have drawers (like at least one or two).

When using a credenza for beverage center (coffee bar or wine bar), having shelves on top feels more rustic. For a modern look, use pretty art instead. Also avoid going for those that look like TV console. Ideal height should be 75-90 cm. 105 cm if you’re a tall person, the latter is bar height.

// BAR CART //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_BAR CART

Source: The Everygirl

The coffee cart is the new bar cart, especially for an addict like me. We do drink, I mean I do drink (I always enjoy a can of cold beer). Jim is not really a drinker (he may be used to but he quit). Nespresso machine can look great with a bar cart too, just gotta know how to style it. The cons are no concealed storage (everything out in display).

// MINIBAR //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ MINIBAR

Source: Pinterest

Minibars, unlike the rest of the options on this list, they actually comes with built in wine rack, etc. designed specifically for storing beverages. They have doors to avoid dust gathering on your glasses which is something I know Jim will approve.

// BOOKCASE //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ BOOKCASE

Source: Pinterest

I was prepping my last post and saw a bunch of bookcases (above left) that gave me the idea to write this post. I thought to myself, “this could work!”. Plus I get to display other stuff on the rest of the shelves. Ideally, I should get one that has drawers instead of doors. And in this case, you can also convert a secretary desk into a beverage center, it gives that vintage vibe. There are a few IKEA hacks that turned bookcases into something like this (above right). I worry about something like a tall cabinet would look bulky in my small home. I’m becoming more indecisive as I’m writing this, how can it be? Every option sounds like a doable option now. 

// TROLLEY //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_TROLLEY

Image Source: Pinterest

A kitchen trolley can be used as a flexible island, you can push it aside when you don’t need it. It adds counter space and storage to a kitchen that doesn’t have the luxury to build a permanent island. It’s also great if you live in a rental unit. They look less fancy than bar carts, the latter is often more metallic and shiny (arguably more masculine). Kitchen trolleys has a more homey, rustic vibe. The left one would totally work in a loft or Industrial style home. The white one is simple enough for any style. They are a less expensive option than bar carts. IKEA has trolleys for the outdoor, perfect if you plan to place it at your balcony or patio.

// FLOATING SHELF //

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ FLOATING SHELF

Source: Pinterest

In my mind, I’m like no. Floating shelf won’t work but the left one is growing on me. Plus I can actually pull a chair and sit there with my laptop, perfect for some blogging activity (next to the coffee machine). Floating shelf doesn’t take up floor space, thumbs up for small space. Should I have drawers built in then? Do I really need concealed storage? The one on the right is so industrial and casual, it’s like it’s built for cool people (whatever it means).

My current design has my “beverage situation” next to the sink, a no-brainer but I’m hoping to clear out more counter space. Here’s a roundup list of those I can buy locally (I think it’s pretty ideal to present this to Jim too). I also included the price for each item for better informed decision making. As part of our services from our E-Design, you’ll get a list that look like this. If you need help in sourcing the ideal furniture for your space, go here

7 WAYS TO HAVE A STYLIST BEVERAGE CENTER KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ SHOPPING FOR HOME BEVERAGE CENTER

1. Jemma Ash Sideboard // 2. Stretto Entryway Cabinet // 3. Memento Mirror Cabinet // 4. Dolce Vita Rose Gold Bar Cart // 5. Cavalier Bar Cart // 6. Libations Bar Cart // 7. Cantina Bar Cabinet // 8. Swig White Mini Bar // 9. Balancia Shelf Cabinet // 10. Knox Low Open Bookcase // 11. Dean Record Cabinet Console // 12. Go-Cart White Rolling Cart // 13. Klasen Trolley // 14. Äpplarö Trolley // 15. Slide Wall Mounted Shelf

I’m looking at No.1 for its functionality, it has row of drawers. It would look great in a Scandinavian home, but honestly I wish it’s in another wood tone or color. No.2 is grey, need I say more? It’s my favorite color. I can’t put my fingers on it but I think no.3 looks great as a beverage center despite it has a mirror (which is more like a dresser or entryway furniture). I love the brass and those drawers that are pretty and has holes for ventilation.

No.4’s gonna look great in a feminine space. Rose gold is so hot right now, it looks great with light wood too. No.7 has too much designed for specifically storing wine, it’s pricey compared to the rest of the options but I hug the marble top. No.8 is high up on my list; it’s Contemporary and neutral white, in my mind I think Jim will approve. I saw No.9 by chance, I like how it’s tall but it’s white which makes it visually lighter. I’m not too sure about it working in my space (as it turned out it’s way too low at 55 cm).

No.11 is gorgeous, shiny copper legs. It’s vintage style will age well with the family, but it doesn’t have concealed storage. No.15 is actually great, love those holes for ventilation (I can close it off for less visual clutter). But sadly the depth is only 7″ (18 cm), I can’t double it as a desk. If I really want this design, I gotta ask my carpenter to make me one.

As you can see, it’s a tough decision to make. You’ll be informed of my final decision. As we speak, no.2, 3, 8, 9, 11 and even custom made are very possible. Which one will you pick? Stay tuned for more such design decision posts. :)

All words by me and images from credited links. This is a non-sponsored post. Items are subjected to availability by respective sellers. Actual price(s) might vary.

COMMENT

