Our Anniversary Staycation Hotel Review

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Hi guys, last week me and my husband Jimmy we went for our early 5th Anniversary celebration at the Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore (where we stayed). Read why this is our third time staying at the hotel (we just keep going back for more) and what I’ve been up to lately plus what to expect on the blog this month.

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_BED

This was our third time at the hotel. The first time was our last year’s anniversary and they gave us a generous corner room. Talk about good first impression. I wanted to stay at this hotel ever since I saw the hotel photos on Flickr few years ago when they first opened. Click here to see photos of the beauty. Jim (my husband) and I walked to Fullerton Bay on foot when we were renting a studio in town (we stayed there for 3 months). Needless to say my husband is as impressed as me and we decided to spend our anniversary by staying 2 nights. 

My love for interior design started from my first hotel stay, read here if you missed it. It was at Grand Hyatt Singapore, I was kinda impressed at that time because I had nothing to compare it to. But we saw some “call girls” hanging around the hotel lobby at Grand Hyatt, we didn’t feel good about it. Plus we paid about 50 bucks (75 USD) each for the “international breakfast” that involved cold food, very few guests around, very few chefs and waiters (yes, it was early morning but still…). Have you eaten at Marché? It felt like that, we had to order food by walking to individual “counters”. 

Now that Fullerton Bay blew my mind away. We are sticking with the them for very good reasons. Some of the overseas hotels I am keen to try are Peninsula Tokyo (they have first class service, first class everything), Landmark Mandarin and maybe a Ritz someday. I used to daydream about staying in all these five stars hotels looking at high res photos of them, during my early days of interior design fascination. :) So fun.

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ARMCHAIRS

Last week, we stayed at the Deluxe Room for 2 nights, last Christmas we tried the Premier Room, both room has private balconies. In fact, I think all their rooms has private balconies.

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_IN ROOM DINING N1

This was what we had for our first night, in-room dining. Try their Fullerton Bay Chicken Rice, it’s real nice too. We wanted something different this time so we ordered western food. We shared the satay sticks. They didn’t have a ton of stuff on their menu but what I love is the fact that we weren’t disappointed with what we tried. I think it’s pointless if a hotel has 500 dishes on their menu but fail to deliver. :) We ordered wine during Christmas last year, one of the best thing about this hotel is their service. Five stars.

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_VIEW

I woke up very early the next day (I don’t sleep early and never is a morning person). My brain is kinda slow in the morning, I might look a bit zombified. I usually feel like my usual self after some coffee (yes coffee, my remedy). I woke up like 6.30 a.m. (which is crazy). My husband already went to the gym and back. You should know, his body clock is nothing like mine, he wakes up early and takes naps (like every parent want their child to be). I.just.can’t. But hey, I’m trying OK. There was this run happening on this day (see the people running?), though they looked more like jogging (but who am I to judge, I don’t even jog/run, ha!), I like how I can look to the sea in the distance from my balcony. Something I can’t have from where I lived or live, you know the sea view (difficult in a small urban city like Singapore).

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_LA BRASSERIE D1

You have to try the La Brasserie buffet breakfast if you stay at Fullerton Bay. You can request items from their “Menu From The Stoves”. Free flow coffee, juices, etc. standard stuff. They have Asian food such as bak kut teh, imagine bak kut teh at 7 a.m.! So dreamy. ;)

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_LA BRASSERIE D1_EGG AND HAM

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_LA BRASSERIE D1_CHICKEN SAUSAGE

My chicken sausage rampage, I had about ten of this! Crazy. I usually don’t eat much during buffets and I sometimes do not have appetite during early morning. 

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_IN ROOM DINING N2

The in-room dinner we had that night, we tried the Nasi Goreng. Both of us. May I comment that it’s very nice? It didn’t looked a lot but I was full after eating everything. The sambal chilies are mildly spicy, not spicy like you cry and drink tons of cold water kind of spicy which is perfect.

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_IN ROOM DINING N2_SUPPER

We already planned for supper when we ordered our dinner, the Dim Sum. I think we had it around 9 p.m. They served in-room food each time with a cute sunflower in a small vase, which I took and kept one next to my bed. :)

OUR ANNIVERSARY STAYCATION HOTEL REVIEW KATE DWELL IN STYLE_LA BRASSERIE D2

We planned to try the suite or the bay view room for our next stay, I dunno, maybe Christmas 2016 or next year. Our priority right now is still prepping for our new home (coming in a few months).

Been playing Resident Evil 6 Remastered with Jim these days. We finished all four story campaigns co-op, tried the co-op Mercenaries mode yesterday night and we were rusty but getting our mojo back. We played RE6 on PS3 for an entire year few years back, it was my first console game btw, ha! 

Upcoming on the blog, new Before & After post next week and more inspiration posts for my new home. I will be posting our entire journey on the blog from inspiration to renovation. Style Diagnostic post, which style would you like me to write about? #3 post of our Ask Kate series and new series Style Challenge using budget friendly items (original design content) all coming up on the blog. Stay tuned. :)

All words and images by me.

COMMENT

