A Happy Modern Bohemian Bedroom Reveal

A HAPPY MODERN BOHEMIAN BEDROOM REVEAL KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Remember this bedroom? Yup, the one that was featured on “how to create a mood board” post and I happily teased about the reveal (I sure did). So here it is! Plus the shopping list to get the look and a peek on a small part out of all the fun stuff you’ll be getting for our design service. 

How To Create A Mood Board // Get To Know Your Style (12 Design Styles)

I have been drawn to the Rustic, Bohemian side lately. It’s not hard to fall in love with these styles, really. I attribute my tendency to House*Tweaking, Sarah Sherman Samuel and Fixer Upper (HGTV show). A ton of awesome inspiration from these awesome people. I’m trying to let in a bit of rustic into my upcoming home. It makes a lot of sense for me to dabble my puny fingers on the Bohemian style right now. So without further ado, ta-da!

KATE DWELL IN STYLE STYLED PROJECTS_BEDROOM HAPPY MODERN BOHEMIAN

Getting the full picture is easy once you have a mood board to follow, it’s very useful. Obviously, I’m not gonna say it’s equally easy to go from mood board to 3D design but I actually self taught myself design software (such as Sketchup). I’m very lucky to have a husband who support what I do (as I’m writing this post through the night with his approval) and gives me freedom and time to learn things that I want to and that makes me very happy . And I am really happy designing homes. Here’s a closer shot at the side table and bed :) –

KATE DWELL IN STYLE STYLED PROJECTS_BEDROOM HAPPY MODERN BOHEMIAN_2

I created a ledge behind the bed for placing arts and stuff, it’s a great way to display stuff without drilling holes in your walls as well as the ease of just switching things up as and when you like. I went asymmetrical for this bedroom, again. It’s an easy trick to stir some interest in an otherwise plain, generic room that basically has no architectural feature whatsoever. If you must know, I am equally as passionate in creating symmetrical rooms, which I hope to showcase some on the blog soon, perhaps my own master bedroom (coming…coming…).

How To Start Planning For Your New Home // How To Create A Mood Board

For some people, you might find the bedroom plain (unlike the Bohemian bedrooms you’ve seen). That’s because I don’t typically add a ton of patterns unless it’s what the homeowner wants. If it’s up to me to decide, I will choose to keep it simple for bedrooms. Having a lot in your bedroom can make one feel unrestful. Mixing the Modern style with Bohemian allows me to achieve the calm, breezy and casual look. I chose to do only a few pops of bright colors mostly because this isn’t a big room, I don’t want to overwhelm the space (see the inspiration shot; this West Elm bedroom is significantly larger than the one I got to work with which means, with a bigger room you can bring in more colors because it can tolerate more “busyness”). Going for a neutral base (white, black, wood) makes it easy for the homeowner to change the colors of her pillows.

A HAPPY MODERN BOHEMIAN BEDROOM REVEAL KATE DWELL IN STYLE DESIGN CONCEPT

Source: Pinterest

The design concept (above) is part of what you’ll get for our design service. If you’re interested in space planning, mood board, 3D design for your home, you might want to check out our design services here. You can choose to do pay per job, which means you only pay for what you need. :) I’ve listed the items used for above bedroom as well as the more affordable version of it, (for the bed) going for a Bohemian style allows you to do away the headboard which saves you money. You might be seeing more Rustic influenced designs and homes on this blog, which can’t be a bad thing, right? ;) As well as previously I’ve teased about doing IKEA bedroom challenge (kids bedroom?), it’s a challenge to come up with beautiful rooms (that doesn’t look totally IKEA) using low cost pieces. So be sure to check back the blog for more original design content and yes, I didn’t forget…Happy Good Friday! :D

A HAPPY MODERN BOHEMIAN BEDROOM REVEAL KATE DWELL IN STYLE REVEAL GET THE LOOK & FOR LESS

1. CopperWerkz Facet Cage Lighting // 2. Drommen Queen Bed // 3. Black Ceiling Fan // 4. Softline Circo Table // 5. Tate Nightstand // 6. Beni Neutral Rug // 7. Sari Silk Cushion // 8. Knitted Graphite Pouf // 9. Piper Table Lamp* // 10. Lark Yellow Throw // 11. Wicker Laundry Basket // 12. Raw Wood Stump

1. Heliconia Hanging Light // 2. Bed Frame // 3. Black Ceiling Fan // 4. Kragsta Nest Of Tables Set Of 2 // 5. Patrick Side Table // 6. Turkish Cross Weaving Rug // 7. Maffens Basket // 8. Knitted Pouf Dark Grey // 9. Moloko Study Lamp (Chrome Pink)*

*Please read me; Unfortunately by the time this post is ready to be published, No.9 lamp is no longer available on their site and I’ve sourced a replacement. Piper Table Lamp is actually cheaper than the “Look For Less” No.9 Moloko Study Lamp. Please take note and sorry for any confusion it might cause. :)

Like this post? Boy’s Bedroom Part 1 // Boy’s Bedroom Part 2 (Reveal)

All words by me, images from me and credited links. This is a non-sponsored post. Items are subjected to availability by respective sellers. Actual price(s) might vary.

2 thoughts on “A Happy Modern Bohemian Bedroom Reveal

COMMENT

