Kitchen Inspiration For My Home

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE MINIMALIST

I started gathering inspiration for my home more than a couple years ago. I knew I have to work with a small galley kitchen (indicated on the floor plan given to us). It’s incredibly small because it’s only 2 m (6.5 ft.) long on each side, and I gotta make it work somehow. Above kitchen is about the best representation of what my kitchen should feels like.

I used the word “feel” because I take what I want from different kitchens and piece them into my kitchen. It won’t turn out exactly like the above kitchen; my kitchen doesn’t have the luxury of such length (and high ceiling) and I’m not doing marble although I would like to do marble countertop or backsplash for my next kitchen. We always know this is our first but not our final home. So I see us moving after 5 years which is a good reason NOT TO invest too much into things we cannot bring along with us plus I’m not ready for the marble maintenance yet. We’ll see.

Pretty much from the start I’ve decided that it has to be Modern/Contemporary (Modern is me, Contemporary is my husband). We’ve decided to hack a L-shaped wall to open up the kitchen to the living area which is great because we plan to try for a baby when we have our own place and I wouldn’t want to be cooking in an enclosed space; not able to see my child easily.

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE MIDCENTURY

Source: Homepolish

I want my kitchen to feel open and airy, so no uppers (hello, floating shelves). The thing about open shelving is that it wouldn’t work if you have all different colors and patterns of dinnerware. We have a pair of bowls and cups from the years living in rentals and that’s about it. We’re ready to buy all brand new for our new home, which means I get to coordinate the color and everything because I’ll be displaying them on my shelves.

Granted I will lose storage by not doing uppers but I only keep things that are either functional, sentimental or beautiful. I have found out that the easier it’s for you to stash unwanted things into cabinets, the more you’ll have stuff in your home. I don’t need stuff/storage to feel happy or completed, pretty much like how I can make myself happy with a 2 bedroom apartment. I have an uber duper small kitchen and the last thing I want in my home is clutter (and because I’m a Minimalist).

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE GALLEY

Source: Mazen Studio

I didn’t always wanted a blue kitchen, I considered dark grey (black at one point) and I still on and off think about a light grey kitchen. Grey is my favorite color btw, blue is my husband’s. Above kitchen is a charcoal color. My eyes light up whenever I sees a Modern kitchen with no uppers and INDUCTION COOKTOP. Once again, because we’re buying all brand new, we are not worried about our current cookware not able to work with induction hobs, sweet.

My kitchen comes with visible piping for the sink on the ceiling at one corner which means I must come up with a way to beautify it and I’ve decided to also make it functional by doing up my ceiling like above—going across my countertop with potlights to shine on my shelves.

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE FLOATING SHELF

Source: Samantha Farjo

When I saw this kitchen on House & Home, I want that floating shelf in between the hood and the cooktop, for my condiments and save myself some counter space (very important) while cooking. I also wanted to have wall mounted light fixtures like this (gives a bit of that rustic vibe to tone down the modernness) but I figure it’s too much for my little kitchen, it looks gorgeous in a kitchen of this size. See below kitchen for the same kind of “spice rack”, I can even put my chopping board on it.

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE RUSTIC

Source: The Patels’ House

As for the cooker hood, I am a believer of always install a hood and always use it when cooking unless your home has crazy good ventilation to the outside or you only ever cook instant noodles. With no uppers, I will leave my hood as it is (above) but since my apartment doesn’t allow ventilation hood which means we can only do a recycling one I’ll most likely go for a simple box-up for my hood (see featured image).

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE IKEA

Source: Studio Zerby

For a long time, I wanted an IKEA kitchen. And this kitchen does convinced me that it can look really good and not ultra modern if I mix in wood. If I’m going for IKEA, it’s either the high-gloss grey, black or white. My husband dislike wood kitchens. IKEA have this grey but it’s VERY distinctly IKEA, and I didn’t want that. I thought it would be a good idea to install an IKEA kitchen to cut cost. But it turned out that we BOTH want a blue kitchen and most importantly I will be restricted by the fixed sizes (IKEA only do 20/40/60/80 cm) which means I can’t do 50 cm or 70 cm cabinets. Not good for a small kitchen because I really have to maximize my lower cabinets, meaning we’re going for custom made.

BTW, the above kitchen has so much out in display but still looks organized, proof that you can have stuff, just gotta organize them!

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE MINIMALIST WHITE

Source: Orlando Soria

This is a very inspiring white kitchen, it’s not a big kitchen. It was my “go to kitchen inspiration” for a period of time when I was seriously considering an IKEA white kitchen with brass hardware to avoid the generic IKEA look. I love this minimalist kitchen (concealed hood and everything, even the fridge is concealed behind the door).

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE NAVY AND GOLD

Source: Brittany Makes

I was supposed to receive my brass hardware this month, but long story short…it’s now out of the window, we’re going for chrome hardware. Yay! The good news is, we save money by not doing brass.

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE TWO TONE

Source: Sarah Sherman Samuel

Sometimes, I want a soft color for my kitchen. Like this one, which is a bluish grey that looks greenish sometimes. Sarah’s house has a rustic vibe to it, which is something that I’m finding myself being drawn to lately. Shh…don’t tell my husband. This kitchen works perfectly in her house, I know it might not be that great in my place because well, you know my husband doesn’t love rustic.

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE SCANDINAVIAN

Source: Emma Persson Lagerberg

Ever been like, you know if someone says “have a mint green kitchen” and you’re like er, no thanks, then you see this kitchen and go “wow!” and you wish this kitchen is yours? Well, this kitchen belongs to a Scandinavian stylist/writer and I think it has probably changed a ton of people on their view for color kitchen (I’m not talking off whites, beige or taupe).

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE WHITE

Source: Riley Architects

Because I have a small kitchen, I know I need to do all things possible to make it feel open, airy and expand the space visually. Tiling my backsplash all the way up is the way to go. Plus this kitchen already has the “ceiling potlights” I have in mind to cover up the unsightly sink pipe. I kinda want my backsplash to look like white planks or shiplap, NO SUBWAY TILES for me in the kitchen, I have them planned for my bathroom ;). This is my little way of bringing “rustic” into the kitchen without screaming cabin. I think it will work out beautifully. :)

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE WHITE SINK AND BACKSPLASH

Source: Emily Henderson // Olivia Botrie

Emily’s blue, white and gold kitchen is THE kitchen that first had me decided on making mine blue. And yes, we’re getting a white kitchen sink and window in front of the sink. :) The kitchen designed by Olivia Botrie really opened up the space with backsplash tiled all the way up.

KITCHEN INSPIRATION FOR MY HOME KATE DWELL IN STYLE CHROME HANDLES

Source: House & Home

To be really honest, I had a lot of hesitation doing brushed nickel handles until I saw this kitchen. I also wanted shaker style cabinet before this. But this kitchen convinced me (it’s like seeing is believing…) that flat panels and chrome handles work just as great. Ours is gonna be a dark navy blue. :) I’ll be sharing my dining area inspiration as well as the rest of my upcoming home reno on the blog. So stay tuned for more such posts.

Continue reading – My Dining Area Inspiration

All words by me and featured image from Entrance Fastighetsmäkleri.

COMMENT

