Designer Spotlight // Fiona Lynch

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE

I’ve been raving about her works on the blog, now I present to you the very well respected Australia based designer, Fiona Lynch! Her works are expertly executed with superb knowledge of colors and materials, exuding a refined and artistic mood, yet it’s so livable and approachable, it’s the epitome of a well designed home…

To tell you the truth, I can’t really look at entirely white minimalist space (I know, you’re going “me too!”). I get bored and uninspired staring at white spaces, too much. It’s so much more fun to use natural elements such as wood, shiny metals and other colors! This probably is why I’m all up for mixing styles.

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT - FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE BALWYN HOUSE_KITCHEN

See more from this project – Balwyn House

There are absolute reasons why Fiona Lynch is a much sought after designer, like how she’s not afraid to use so much grey (BTW, my favorite color), contrasting the harshness of the concrete with brass. This kitchen is balanced by using two ends of a spectrum, the former is cold and the latter is warm. I also like how she chose black reflective tiles for the backsplash (black is a warm color). By the way, I love those sleek handles. This kitchen would have been easily forgettable had it been a full white kitchen (yes, even with those concrete walls).

7 Ways To Use Black In Your Home.

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT - FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE BALWYN HOUSE & PARK STREET RESIDENCE

See more from these projects – Balwyn House // Park Street Residence

A very big part of why I’ve come to admire her works so much is that I often find myself having a desire to recreate these looks from her works, and I realize I can, and so can other folks (even non-designers)! There is a simplicity in her design, the kind of pureness in true minimalist style! Eliminates all the unnecessary and what’s left is the essence that makes a home beautiful AND functional.

See that floating grey console, I can see it as a bar/coffee making area for my home. See the seating in that dining from Park Street Residence? I might have ditched the idea of a banquette for my home, but what she did here is igniting that spark in me. I mean honestly, I can see me and my family in it.

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT - FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE PARK STREET RESIDENCE & FINNON GLEN FARMHOUSE

See more from these projects – Park Street Residence // Finnon Glen Farmhouse

In case you’re wondering, The Park Street Residence is Scandinavian inspired. And I would have never guess a plaid sofa could look right at home (pun intended) here. Obviously, and also the fact that the view from the farmhouse is to die for.

See the transformation from the power of re-upholstery (from drab to plaid).

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT - FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE FITZROY HOUSE & CAROLINE STREET HOUSE

See more from these projects – Fitzroy House // Caroline Street House

A library corner with a black floor to ceiling built-in just creates the right cozy feel; perfect reading nook. See the sculptural chair? There’s also other available comfortable seating (the lounger). I’ve talked about this here.

The Caroline Street House was used as an example of How To Use Pantone Color Of The Year. If you’re a firm white interiors believer, muted color is a great way to incorporate some colors into your home. They’re the tone down version of colors. Muted colors are less busy which is calmer for usage in spaces you just wanna unwind, such as bedrooms.

See floor to ceiling black built-in by DWELL IN STYLE for a Bacholerette’s Retreat.

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT - FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE WILLIAMSTOWN HOUSE BATHROOMS

See more from this project – Williamstown House

I am not a fan of color bathrooms such as these but if you’re one, keeping the lines clean and the space uncluttered is the way to go. When working with small spaces, keep the color palette tight. Too many colors in one small space can go crazy fast, like there’s no space to breathe. You can get away with a few colors in spaces like bathrooms (the general population don’t spend hours in their bathrooms). I will recommend more layering (colors, textures) to be done with other living spaces such as the living room where we typically spend time being with our family or entertaining friends.

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT - FIONA LYNCH KATE DWELL IN STYLE PARK STREET RESIDENCE & HAWTHORNE EAST HOUSE

See more from these projects – Park Street Residence // Hawthorne East House

These two are great inspiration to me, the bathroom is actually what I’VE DECIDED to recreate for one of my bathrooms. If I ever wanna do a glass divider, this is the kind of design that really speaks to me. It’s not the typical squares that we see and not crazy like too much is going on or too hard to replicate. :) If you’re interested to get more inspiration, check out Fiona Lynch’s site. See you next post!

See more talented designers – Grace Castaneda // Jessica Helgerson // Orlando Soria

All words by me and images from credited links. This is a non-sponsored post.

2 thoughts on “Designer Spotlight // Fiona Lynch

COMMENT

