12 Trendy Color Sofas You Might Love

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Do you have a favorite color that no one else seems to get it…moss green, butterscotch yellow? From candy colored orange to jewel tone emerald green to pastel colors such as pink, it’s the year to embrace these colors in our homes. How about start by getting a trendy color sofa that can brighten your day? Let the fun begins…

Color sofas seem to have a bad rep, they are somehow associated with dated homes, I can picture someone saying this “this home has an orange sofa, they must have bought it ten years ago”. Remember seeing sofas made of cheap material that are also in a weird color. But hey, no one can ever guarantees that a grey sofa can’t be cheaply made and look dated in a few years. There’s no wrong in choosing either a colored or a neutral (think grey and beige) sofa. It’s ridiculous if anyone would to immediately think that colored sofas are only for people who wants a retro vibe in their homes, uh-uh, no. The design, the material and support a sofa gives simply cannot be judged by its color alone. Jeez, talk about judging a book by its cover.

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_PINK & MAROON

Understandably, some people loves colors, some people don’t. And then there are people who loves colors but are afraid to use them in their homes. Each of these colored sofa is impressive and a focal point by itself. Let’s say you step into someone’s home and see one, it’s really hard to ignore it and you’ll probably remember that home as “oh, the one with the pink couch!”. It can be a good thing.

It only starts to get crazy if you layer a lot of colors on top of your colored couch. Now, you need to at least have some sense of how is all the colors gonna come together. For throw pillows, do one or two within the same color family and then add some contrasting, the opposite of red is blue (see above maroon sofa with the blue grey pillow). Remember to tie in the colors from the throws to other items around the sofa such as your ottoman/pouf, accessories on your coffee table (such as tray, vase, etc.), even the color of your lamp! They don’t have to be the exact same color, just need to stay in that color family.

I love this shade of pink (above) even as paint color, muted pink just looks calm and serene (unlike hot pink). And who would have guess a maroon sofa can look like this (above), when I typed in “maroon couch” on Pinterest I was thinking “I’m about to make a big mistake, I mean who am I kidding, maroon?! They probably just look like blood…yadda”, boy I was wrong! See how classy and rich it is, although I have to attribute the fine look to its design and fabric too!

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE LAVENDER

This lavender couch reminds me of my favorite ice cream (yam flavored) in a good way. I love how the lavender seems to be leaning to the “grey spectrum” it’s like warm grey. For folks to find pink sofas too common, you don’t come across a lavender sofa everyday, but when you see one, you know this homeowner knows his/her stuff.

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_CORAL

This is an IKEA sofa that is listed as “orange” but it looks coral to me in photos. This reminds me of my favorite lip color when I was in my early twenties (I was never the sexy red lips kind of girl). I still love coral lips. I love how the grey pillows contrast with this feminine color. BTW, grey is my favorite color…I love grey for my wardrobe.

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ORANGE

Now, if you’re slightly bolder, just a little bit bolder…you can go for an orange sofa. I love the tufting, I want tufting for my own sofa (in my upcoming new home, just a few more months…). This is the kind of sofa that grows on you, at first you’re like “uh, no”, then you go “it’s actually quite beautiful”, then you started looking at its details and go “wow, it’s a keeper”. I’m not actually describing your love relationship but actually it’s a lot like a relationship, which is why you shouldn’t settle for a sofa that it’s safe and everybody’s gonna like it. How about the “I’m in love with my sofa” and “guys, I’m sticking with my orange sofa, she’s a keeper…now get to know her!”. The latter I mean, take a seat. ;)

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_YELLOW & FUCHSIA

You know they say Yellow is a happy color? Being the lightest hue on the spectrum, it gives off an uplifting and cheerful vibe. I will be so happy to sit on this velvety yellow couch, I can see that it’s calling me…Calling lovers of the Bohemian style and folks who want a bit of ethnic influences in your home, (besides a vintage Persian rug, which can be really expensive), how about a Fuchsia sofa like this one? Its clean lines says modern, its design is a crowd pleaser while the color will make YOU oh-so-happy, win-win.

See design works from Jessica Helgerson such as the room with the yellow sofa

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_PURPLE

A purple sectional? Okay, before you go, hell no! See how it’s looking perfect next to the color black? Remember color only gets crazy if there are a bunch of other colors that are randomly next to each other. Technically, Black and white are not really colors (I’m not going into this debate), I’m saying that they look good next to any color. When using strong colors such as purple, keep the rest neutral (think black, white, grey, taupe, wood, chrome). This purple sectional is growing on me the more I look at it…

See 7 Ways To Use Black In Your Home.

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_TEAL & EMERALD

This CB2 teal (peacock) sectional was selected for our upcoming home (I put it into our 3D design). That was before the Eames lounger came into the picture. My husband needed an armchair at our living room,  there’s only two things he firmly requested to be exactly to his liking; namely the king size bed and HIS armchair. Typical men. The remark is just me joking, you get it right…;) A sectional AND an armchair with ottoman is TOO MUCH for my 700 sq ft apartment, so I scrap the sectional and we went back to a simple sofa.

Emerald green is on trend this year! Designers are itching to use it, you might start to see dramatic dark green walls and furniture such as sofas popping up. If you love this color, wait no further, it’s time to truly embrace it!

See 10 Home Trends To Try In 2016 such as jewel tone walls.

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_MINT

I’m not sure anyone will hate a mint colored sofa. Sure, you don’t love it, but you don’t detest it, do you? Just like the name of the color, it’s fresh and cool. If you’re the folks who need self-expressing outlets, playing music, drawing, having a blog is also consider one ;), and need to share your space with a dude (sometimes a pink couch is not viable), you might wanna consider this color!

12 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_SAPPHIRE

The chesterfield sofa is classic and timeless, it’s typically in neutral colors but a blue like this just seems much more fun. Sofas with a classic design can get away with being “colored”, it’s the cheap, chunky generic sofas that are ALSO colored that is terrifying.

See Choosing The Right Sofa // 12 Types Of Stylish Sofas You Will Love

10 TRENDY COLOR SOFAS YOU MIGHT LOVE KATE DWELL IN STYLE_TRENDY COLOR SOFAS

1. Rocky Sofa Purple // 2. Softline Jasper Sofa // 3. Pennie Sofa Cornflower // 4. Muuto Connect Sofa // 5. Avec Sofa With Brass Legs // 6. Nockeby Three Seat Sofa // 7. Eilersen Bridge Sofa //8. Ditto II Peacock Sectional Sofa // 9. Velvet Lyre Chesterfield Sofa // 10. Profile Large 4-Seat Sofa // 11. Söderhamn Corner Sofa Isefall Light Turquoise // 12. Peta Sofa Fjord Lavender

All words by me and images from Pinterest, Lavender Sofa from Meridiani Norton Sofa. This is a non-sponsored post. Items are subjected to availability by respective sellers.

One thought on “12 Trendy Color Sofas You Might Love

COMMENT

