5 Things I Love But Has Irrational Fears

5 THINGS I LOVE BUT HAS IRRATIONAL FEAR KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Some people has a phobia of clowns (coulrophobia). For some others, it’s spiders (arachnophobia). Just so you know, fear makes us human. This might be the weirdest post I ever wrote (maybe). What you’re about to read is me (and my husband, Jim) irrational fears on ordinary items that we see all the time and they are things that I personally admire A LOT (conflicting much?). So, ya ready for the weirdness?

Having preferences as a human being, no big deal. You might not want floral prints in your home because you just didn’t like the look or it reminds you of your granny’s home and perhaps other logical reasons. If anytime you feel like it’s not Kate but a crazy person talking here, don’t worry, I wasn’t took over by an alien. I present to you (not in particular order), first one on the list…

// ROCKING CHAIR //

5 THINGS I LOVE BUT HAS IRRATIONAL FEAR KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ROCKING CHAIR

This fear is my husband’s (shh, don’t tell him I said this) and to some degree, mine. This wonderful vintage rocker (reupholstered in pine green) in Emily‘s nursery for her little girl, what a lucky baby indeed. It will be awesome to rock a baby to sleep in a rocking chair, in fact I can see myself doing that (we don’t have a child now, but we hope to have one in the years to come). Get those that looks like armchair; upholstered, comfortable and stylish (don’t get the timber ones; they are my source of nightmares). A chair like this (image above) is not limited to just nurseries, it’s stylish enough to be used in other areas of your home.

I tried googling the name for fear of rocking chair and found this. People developed a phobia for chairs or rocking chair mostly because they had fallen off a high chair or hit their head on a rocking chair. But for us, it’s a lot less rational (and unexpected). It’s the thought of the rocking chair rocking by itself in the middle of the night that is scary enough that me and my husband (mostly him, I think) just can’t. Go to the link below, click at your own risk. 

Click to see my fear of rocking chair in picture form. 

// ROUND MIRROR //

5 THINGS I LOVE BUT HAS IRRATIONAL FEAR KATE DWELL IN STYLE_ROUND MIRROR

Mirror mirror on the wall…oops. Just to set the record straight, I’m not afraid of ghosts (I do think human are more terrifying, the latter is true). I watch Ghost Adventures and just about any paranormal movies you can name from Hollywood to Chinese/Japanese/Thai films. I used to watch scary Japanese paranormal shows in the middle of the night, ALONE. See the Wikipedia explanation for Spectrophobia. There are only about a few stuff that can spook me (for years); Sadako, The Eye…and it’s kinda embarrassing to admit them now that I’m 29. Sheesh…by the way, I’m not spooked by mirrors, it’s just round/oval mirrors like those Japanese uses, like the one in The Ring (the Japanese one, obviously)…

Click to see my fear of round mirror in picture form.

A round mirror looks stunning in the entryway (image above). If my home has a foyer, I will totally do this (which is why I gotta overcome my fear first). And I won’t hesitate to recommend round mirrors to my clients unless they also share this fear.

Statement Mirror as trend for 2016 // Enhancing your space with a Round Mirror

// HOOP OR ROPE PENDANT //

5 THINGS I LOVE BUT HAS IRRATIONAL FEAR KATE DWELL IN STYLE_CHORD PENDANT LIGHT

Skip this part if you don’t want to know how I got the impression that hanging is a bad way to go. I was told that you don’t die immediately from hanging and all that kicking and tongue falling out of your mouth is…OK, I’ll stop now. Don’t click this.

The one with white rope from CB2 is actually better (for me), I’m more afraid of the yellow/brown ones. I thought of getting those hanging lamps with a hoop (image above) for my bathroom but I’m not sure I like the idea of something shaped like a noose above my head especially I might get spooked with my reflection of a noose next to me. OK, enough of the creepy thoughts. Using ropes can be so Rustic and Bohemian, two styles that covey coziness and warmth. I guarantee you it’s nothing like the phobia I have. AND I don’t have phobia for round things, just these two.

Style Diagnostic -How To Do Rustic Styles // Mood Board – Happy Modern Bohemian 

// HONEYCOMB TILES //

5 THINGS I LOVE BUT HAS IRRATIONAL FEAR KATE DWELL IN STYLE_HONEYCOMB TILES

OK, this phobia coming from me is ridiculous. Because I LOVE hexagon tiles! There so many homes right now with this tile (bathrooms, kitchens), it’s a classic choice and arguably not as overdone as subway tiles. I love simple and elegant spaces (I’m a Minimalist). But as the title says, it reminds us of honeycomb…and bees, we don’t like bees, well they stings

Trypophobia is also a more common phobia on this list, it’s basically phobia of small holes. When I was very young, when I would have fever; in my nightmare, I turned into the size of a mice, I can see the other mouse and there is cheese. There are small holes in the cheese, because I’m mice sized, I can see those holes clearly ‘cos they’re magnified, I felt disgusted. Then there is falling pipes and mattresses (which the latter kinda looked like sandwiches) and I would look through the pipes which looked like this. I would be trying to look in between the mattresses and felt like I’m suffocating as if I’m being stuffed in between them. It happened when I was ill and trying to sleep, this dream would start. My dreams are always in colors but this particular one had a dreary grey tint to it. It stopped happening after I went into my late teens.

Yes, it’s very bizarre. Oh, by the way, I have no phobia on cheese or mattress. And I’m disgusted by this Japanese creature with a hundred eyes.

// PORTRAIT ART //

5 THINGS I LOVE BUT HAS IRRATIONAL FEAR KATE DWELL IN STYLE_PORTRAIT ART

Yes, it’s getting more and more ridiculous especially when it’s coming from an aspiring stylist (me!). Now, don’t get me wrong I LOVE portraits. I’m just not quite ready for them in my home. I mean, what happens if he actually turn his eyes to look at me when I’m not looking? What if he watches me while I sleep?

Scopophobia is the fear of being watched, I don’t fear being watched (as in, in the public by real humans) but I simply feel uncomfortable that a stranger is in my home (all the time). It also doesn’t help that there are portraits floating around that are supposedly haunted. Even if you don’t think they’re ACTUALLY haunted, they’re still pretty creepy. But seriously, if you don’t have this ridiculous fear, go ahead and hang some portraits. I envy you.

Click to see the supposedly haunted eerie painting from eBay.

Does it makes me a hypocrite for saying you should have these in your home? Not at all. My intention of writing this is NEVER to spook anyone or criticize any of these designs. The truth is, deep down I adore all five of them (and my fears are very irrational and I probably should really work on them). As an interior stylist, I like A LOT of stuff, I see their potential even though they’re not for my home (me and/or my husband). It’s like I don’t like the color green (I like green in plants though), but that doesn’t mean other people can’t like it. Don’t ever let a designer dictates that your home should be all white just because it’s his/her style or preference.

I hope you enjoy reading my deep thoughts :) and I’m sorry if my phobias are disturbing to read but I actually had a lot of fun writing this, more fun than I should ever had on this topic, it’s like I enjoy writing about my phobias (maybe it’s therapeutic you see). Very strange indeed. Do you have something that you’ve decided you didn’t want them in your home because *state your reason here*, I would love to hear from you. :)

Image Sources: Rocking Chair Emily Henderson // Round Mirror Gubi Adnet CirculairesGubi Adnet Circulaires & Houzz // Hoop Or Round Pendant Kreis Hanging Lamp & Chord Pendant Light // Honeycomb Tiles Pinterest // Portrait Art Emily Henderson

All words by me.

COMMENT

