Exciting Blog Plans For 2016

EXCITING BLOG PLANS FOR 2016 KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Hey guys, 2016 is going to be an exciting and challenging year for me. In a few months time, I am going to tackle my most important project (yet). Yes, my new home renovation! I’ll be documenting my journey and you would hate to miss it. Mark my words…on a serious note, notice that awesome feature wall (above)?

This was actually designed and hand painted by Emily Knudsen from JHID (design firm by Jessica Helgerson). I’ll be featuring Jessica’s works soon, so stay tuned.

// MY HOME RENO JOURNEY //

EXCITING BLOG PLANS FOR 2016 KATE DWELL IN STYLE CASEY DEBOIS HOME

The is the home of Homepolish designer Casey Debois. For a brief period, I really wanted my home to look like her apartment (I also wanted a sofa just like hers). Her style is bright and airy with a coastal vibe. I mean, I will totally go for it if I’m living alone, which I’m not. Which means my home has to have more Contemporary in it and manly (I mean masculine ) stuff because I share my home with my husband. It’s not a bummer, it’s just more challenging and I’m all up for that challenge. ;) I really can’t wait to see the result of mixing our styles in our home. It’s gonna be Modern meet Contemporary meet Glam. Well, Glam because I am a fan of mixed metals, get ready to see some awesome “chrome meet brass meet copper” action in my home! Exciting stuff.

// ASK KATE SERIES //

CHOOSING THE RIGHT SOFA KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Last month I started a new series aptly named “Ask Kate”. ;) It was hard work to source for 24 sofas under $900 and $1500 respectively. You know, they can’t just be cheap but they also has to be stylish to make it into the list (which isn’t exactly easy). But hey, I really like that post. You can read about it here. Some of the topics you can expect from the series are “When White Walls Don’t Work”; when not to paint your walls true white and how to select paint colors plus some recommendation of paint colors from me. “Buying Generic Furniture as a Set”, what to do with your matchy-matchy furniture and what to avoid, and such.

// STYLE DIAGNOSTIC //

HOW TO DO RUSTIC STYLES KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Early on the blog, I wrote THE post that talked about 12 design styles. I always wanted to talk more in-depth about EACH style, because frankly, a few sentences are just not enough. If you’re interested in Rustic style for your home; Modern Farmhouse, Coastal Glam, Vintage Country and Cottage Chic, read about them here. It was surprisingly easy for me to get into each Rustic style once I started writing. Also it wasn’t as hard to source for the RIGHT IMAGE to represent each style which to me is kinda the “hard” part because of how time consuming it took for me to source 12 images for the 12 styles post.

// DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT //

DESIGNER SPOTLIGHT GRACE CASTANEDA CONDO

Gorgeous living room, I know right. You’ll be seeing more such awesome works from fiercely talented designers on the blog. I have five (maybe even ten…gosh) inspiring designers that I can name right off the bat, and I know you’re probably not surprised. Anyhoo, get ready to pin or bookmark some of them because some of their works had me seriously hooked, literally in a trance…can’t.stop.looking.at.pretty.homes…

// YAY OR NAY? //

EXCITING BLOG PLANS FOR 2016 KATE DWELL IN STYLE YAY OR NAY

I’m compiling a list of different types of feature wall. Here is the limewashed wall (hot trend overseas right now, people!). I’ll be sharing more about this wall effect so please check the blog if you want some feature wall ideas for your home. I’m also working on a roundup list of different types of kitchen, how to start planning for your new home, how to select the right size rug, hanging the right size art, how to do a gallery wall, how to create a vignette (styling for bookshelves and tabletops, etc).

If you would like me to write about ANYTHING related to Interior Design, styling or perspective of a homeowner, you can reach out to me on social media (Facebook, Twitter) or just leave a comment on the blog. Say Hi to me or just want to peek at my pin board. Go ahead, I’m not gonna bite. Ha! ;) See you next post.

Image Sources: Featured Image Jessica Helgerson // Home Inspiration Homepolish // Designer Spotlight Grace Castaneda // Yay or Nay? Remodelista

All words by me.

COMMENT

