The Power Of Re-Upholstery

THE POWER OF RE-UPHOLSTERY KATE DWELL IN STYLE

Source: Brittany Makes

Re-upholstery is a daily business for Americans (they are really into DIY stuff too!), but for us; let’s just say it can get a bit weird. The question often becomes “why are you re-upholstery your old stuff if we can buy them brand new?”. Transformation like so (image) can be very satisfying. Are you up for the challenge?

I am a reader of Brittany Makes ever since her navy gold and white kitchen debuted to the whole world. I have since convinced myself that not a single soul on Earth will disagree with that gorgeous kitchen. She did upholstery herself but when she finally decided to get her hoarded armchair professionally re-upholstered, her readers are just as excited.

THE POWER OF RE-UPHOLSTERY KATE DWELL IN STYLE INSPIRATION SCHOOLHOUSE ELECTRIC JACK CHAIR

Ta-da! The re-upholstered armchair looking happy and inviting by the fireplace. Brittany also shared her inspiration for the choice of fabric; PLAIDS! Yes, you’ve heard it right, plaids are hot right now (they are hot since fall 2015)! Cheers to her final choice because she could have gone a “safer route” by doing a plain fabric but she didn’t!

The inspiration she has (Schoolhouse Electric Jack Chair in Windowpane Plaid) cost $1,500 USD! I’m not ready for some armchair that’s gonna cost me over a thousand bucks (my budget is still well below a thousand). She now has her version of the Jack Chair by spending significantly lesser. Do you think she made the right choice?

THE POWER OF RE-UPHOLSTERY KATE DWELL IN STYLE SCHOOLHOUSE ELECTRIC JACK CHAIR

I tried googling more on the Jack Chair and found this home; the house of Schoolhouse Electric’s founder. Instantly, I feel hysterical…about the beauty of his home. Now that I’ve seen this house, I cannot unseen it, help! Click the link above if you wanna be impressed. (You’ve been warned).

THE POWER OF RE-UPHOLSTERY KATE DWELL IN STYLE SCHOOLHOUSE ELECTRIC FOUNDER'S HOUSE_1

If you’re now keen on having your own Jack Chair, Schoolhouse Electric DOES ship internationally but on a case by case basis. I found an armchair similar to Brittany’s. While I do not know how much this cost (but it clearly can be bought in Singapore), what do you think if I could have this re-upholstered in plaids, huh?
THE POWER OF RE-UPHOLSTERY KATE DWELL IN STYLE COMFORT DESIGN ICHIYORemember my mantra of a simple design goes a long way? The last thing a homeowner wants is investing money on something that look dated next year. Mid-century modern furniture are classic and timeless. If you’re interested in re-upholstering your old furniture or simply get a new look out of an existing one, end of the day it’s really about adding value to it. If I have the chance to try (speaking as a designer and a homeowner), I will definitely dabble my puny fingers on re-upholstering furniture. So is it a yay or nay for you?

All words by me. This is a non-sponsored post. Items are subjected to availability by respective sellers. Actual price(s) might vary.

2 thoughts on “The Power Of Re-Upholstery

COMMENT

