Ask Kate #1 // Choosing The Right Sofa

CHOOSING THE RIGHT SOFA KATE DWELL IN STYLE

When it comes to interior styling, I personally feel that there are no hard and fast rules. Obviously country laws, rules and regulation aside. Commonly asked questions (such as this) are hard to ignore. With that said, I want to round up (yes, I looked through more than a hundred sofas to come up with this list) some of the affordable yet stylish sofas that you can order locally.

Giving advice like go buy an expensive or designer sofa do not solve all problems. Some people already HAVE a sofa and most of us do not have an unlimited budget. Spending a few thousands on a sofa is a splurge (to me, anyway). I will generally recommend people spending slightly more on something they REALLY love as an investment piece (something that look like this). Something that you’ll take it with you when you move! I’m the kind who will splurge on a sofa and/or bed; something you really spend hours on, touching it with your skin (it has to be good!). You see, nobody is gonna furnish their home without a sofa. But first, let’s look at the less desirable ones, like these –

ASK KATE #1 CHOOSING THE RIGHT SOFA KATE DWELL IN STYLE SOFAS YOU DON'T.png

My reasons for avoiding these sofas; cheap fabrics, overly stuffed, wing arms that try so hard to impress, two-toned look, unnecessary detailing screaming “I’m a sofa but also something else”. And those legs, well they didn’t help. I’m sorry if you own any of these sofas. A beautiful space relies on every item in the room to pull it together; the reason that I write these posts. I will be very happy if this blog is helping (even just one single person).

Affordability, availability and fast-delivery are huge factors when it comes to us city dwellers. We just don’t have the freaking time to look at 6000 sofas before we pull the trigger. I know right! 

ASK KATE #1 CHOOSING THE RIGHT SOFA KATE DWELL IN STYLE SOFAS WE LOVE UNDER 900

1. Telford Sofa // 2. Tana Sofa // 3. Tucson Sofa // 4. Berwick Sofa Bed // 5. Hagen Sofa // 6. Vintage Hound Tooth Sofa // 7. Rhona III Sofa Bed // 8. Dynamic Bibury Sofa // 9. Boston Sofa // 10. Taylor Sofa // 11. Spencer Sofa // 12. Stocksund Sofa

To me, a simple sofa goes a long way, it sets the stage creating a focal point for the space and especially when they’re also beautiful and inexpensive like these –

ASK KATE #1 CHOOSING THE RIGHT SOFA KATE DWELL IN STYLE SOFAS UNDER 1500

1. Ripon Sofa // 2. Hanford Sofa // 3. London Sofa // 4. Dynamic Mangu Sofa // 5. William Sofa // 6. Mendosa Sofa // 7. Elton Sofa // 8. Ruri Ash Sofa // 9. 70s Vintage Modern Slipcover Sofa // 10. Flatiron Haze Sofa // 11. Pennie Sofa // 12. Black Leather Sofa

Some of the equally awesome sofas are not here for either the price or the price isn’t available online. I did not personally test these sofas, they are selected purely based on their design/material, function and price. I cannot vouch for them, I cannot guarantee that it will become your soulmate, but it just might. Some designs are actually carried by multiple stores, I linked the one that provides the price.

Should you get a new sofa? If you’re sick of your sofa because you had budget constraint back then and bought it dirt cheap (like 200-300 bucks cheap), you bought it in a real hurry and now regrets, you were pressured into getting it as a set because it came with a half priced coffee table…and so on. I promise we will talk about matchy matchy furniture sometime. Or maybe, your sofa is really old and/or worn out? I often think about how wonderful it is to be greeted by my simple and fresh, beautiful yet inexpensive sofa the moment I’m home. I know I want it!

Remember the “rule” that says small space = small sofa? I’ll give you an example, if I have my living dining side by side (like most people living in a small apartment), and I want my dining table to seat more than 4, I might not have reasonable space for a “big” sofa. But you need to know, a smallish sofa can dwarf the space and it will; so go big if you can! Now you know that I don’t believe in rules.

I’ll address general questions like this one on the blog. Any suggestion for the next Ask Kate post is greatly welcomed! Until the next time, folks.

Also from the series – When White Walls Don’t Work // Buying Generic And Matching Furniture

Now that you know the importance of a right sofa, see The Sofa Guide: 12 Types // 12 Trendy Color Sofas

All words and featured image by me, images from Google and credited links. This is a non-sponsored post. Items are subjected to availability by respective sellers. Actual price(s) might vary.

One thought on “Ask Kate #1 // Choosing The Right Sofa

COMMENT

